2016: The Year of Change

The past couple days I have had some time off of work. During that time I have done some deep, long thinking about my life. Those thoughts haunt me frequently. Where have I been? More specifically, where am I going? I set so many goals last year and barely reached a handful of what I set out to accomplish. The thoughts of these few days have brought me some clarity. The only way my goals can be achieved, is if there is change. The reason why they weren’t achieved was because of me and the fact I didn’t want to change.

These changes span over many things. First, I need to change the way I was looking at weight loss. I have hit a road block and over the holidays I gained back 10 pounds of the 61 that I lost. It really fanned the flames of fear that once I get to where I want to be, I will fall back on old habits and old mental patterns. My mind has been my biggest enemy in this journey and I need to change the mind in order to change the body.

Second, I need to change the blog. I don’t feel like I’ve been taking it as seriously as I would like. I’ve been making excuses for not putting it as a focus. I’m too tired, I just don’t want to, I don’t have time. I may be missing out on a lot of opportunities that could help me be a better writer and live a more fulfilling life. I want to make this successful.

Third, work has become the focus of my time and energy. I don’t want to spend my life earning a living without living my life. I don’t do the things I want to do because I work so much. I don’t travel as much as I would like because, again, I have to work. Work takes up to 45-50 hours of my week. I fight to make ends meet, but it does not make me happy. It does not allow me the time to do things I want to do.

Fourth, writing has fallen to the way side. I write occasionally, but the focus is gone. This is what I want to do. I want to write. I have the stories in my head and in my heart. I want to share these stories with the world.

The only way things can happen the way I want them to, is if I set clear goals and work hard to achieve them. I have already begun planning. But plans don’t become action until one puts them into action. So here is the list of the goals I plan to achieve throughout this year. I’m going to work hard to change my life for what I want and not what others want.

Solutions to My Life’s Problems
1. Lose 50 lbs by my 30th birthday.
2. Focus at least 10 hours per week on SquaRed Dishes.
3. Take 2 road trips this year.
4. Search for a new, more fulfilling job that allows me freedom to come and go as I please.
5. Schedule time to write and craft for a few hours each week.

I’m not very good at setting specific goals. Its always been a problem. But we must all start somewhere.

Until next time,
Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

