Recipe: Spaghetti Squash with Chunky Tomato Sauce

When I first committed to losing weight, I needed to detox. I felt like the only way I was going to be able to diet properly and stick to it for the long haul, I needed to cleanse my body the best that I could. This recipe was one I developed after I craved the taste of spaghetti, specifically spaghetti noodles. The good Lord saw it fit to grace us with the wonderful and talented spaghetti squash!

Now, spaghetti squash is not the star of this particular dish, but it is the bed with which the sauce rests. The sauce is the key to this recipe. And I must say, this is the easiest, healthiest, most delicious recipe you will ever have!

Spaghetti Squash with Chunky Tomato Sauce

1 small spaghetti squash, halved and seeded
1 (4 oz) can stems and pieces mushrooms, drained
1 (16 oz) can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 (8 oz) can whole kernel sweet corn, drained
1 (15 oz) can Hunts Fire Roasted diced tomatoes
3 tbsp. white onion, finely diced
1 tsp. minced garlic
2 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

IMG_0756

What makes this recipe super easy and quick is cooking the squash in the microwave. There are many ways to cook a spaghetti squash: boiling, baking, roasting. But in the microwave, you can steam a spaghetti squash and still get the great taste! Prepare the squash for the microwave by cutting it in half and scooping the seeds out with a spoon. Lay the squash, flesh down in a bowl and fill with water. Do not cover it. Just put enough water in to rise up through the flesh and cook it. Depending upon the squash’s size, start by cooking it for 5 minutes. Add more time if the flesh is not tender or an be easily shredded with a fork. Repeat this process for the other half.

IMG_0760

IMG_0761

IMG_0762

After you’ve opened the cans of mushrooms, tomatoes, black beans, and corn, drain them all EXCEPT the tomatoes. You need the juices from the tomatoes to thicken the sauce. Make sure you also rinse the black beans. I always find they have a better taste when they are drained. Black beans also add protein that this dish would otherwise be lacking. If you are a regular meat eater, you can add beef, chicken, or even shrimp.

IMG_0764

Quickly dice the onion in as tiny pieces as you can. I prefer onion this way because you get all the flavor without chomping into a big piece of onion. At this time, the squash should be finished. Pull it out of the microwave, but BE CAREFUL! Its hot, so use a potholder to hold it in your hand while you shred out the flesh. The best way to tell if its done is if the outside is soft.

IMG_0769

IMG_0770

Now its time to complete the sauce. In a medium saucepan, saute garlic and onion in olive oil. Saute until the onion is browned slightly. The smell at this point is AMAZING. I had to stop everything I was doing and just inhale the powerful aroma of garlic and onion. Then drop the mushrooms and mix. I originally wanted fresh mushrooms for this dish but was strapped for time. If you choose to use fresh mushrooms, cook them until tender.

Next put both the corn and beans in the pan and stir until mixed. Cover for about 3 minutes or until the mixture is heated through. While the mixture is cooking, plate the squash. Shred the amount of desired squash on a plate. I did about a cup with is hearty enough to satisfy even the pickiest of eaters. Season it with a little bit of pepper and as much salt you want to taste.

IMG_0775

IMG_0776

Luckily, the tomatoes are pre-seasoned and you don’t need to add any other seasons. It will over spice the sauce and will not be tasty. The tomatoes really are the star of the sauce. Pour them into pan, juice and all, and mix them with the other ingredients. Cover again and let it simmer until the tomatoes are heated through. At this point, if you decide to have garlic bread, go ahead and heat it up! I chose a salad as my side as I felt I needed some green to liven up my plate.

IMG_0779

IMG_0781

I hope you really enjoy the ease of this recipe. It took about 20 minutes to cook and is a great recipe to wow your significant other with during a weekday. I know I never seem to have time on a week day to cook a complicated meal so this is perfect!

IMG_0790

IMG_0792

IMG_0791

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

