Product Review: BNTO

Every once in a while, you come across a product that is exciting and life altering. The BNTO cups are that product. They were introduced to me by a friend who posted a link to the Cuppow! website on my Facebook page. Kitchen gadgets, much like office supplies, make me very giddy inside, so when she told me she was going to order a set for me for my birthday, I was super stoked!

          What are BNTO cups?
BNTO cups are plastic cups that don’t have a lid. But that’s okay! Their purpose is to fit perfectly into a Mason Jar! The lid of the Mason Jar acts as a lid for the plastic cup which is nearly air tight and completely spill proof. They essentially turn a jar into a lunchbox! The cups are made from BPA safe plastic that is reusable and dishwasher safe.

IMG_0652

          Is there a variety available?
Absolutely! The company produces BNTO cups with different colors like orange, green, blue, and pink. Their cups fit in both wide mouth and regular mouth jars. They also have other “lid” like objects for mason jars, like drinking lids and margarita shakers.

          How much do they cost?
One BNTO cup is $8.99 on their website. I would suggest buying them in a pack of 5, because the cost is actually cheaper and you are able to have many cups if you need them. At the time of this post, there is free shipping on many of the variety packs they offer.

IMG_0653

          Is it worth it?
I did not pay for my BNTO cups as they were a birthday present. However, I do know that the price seems a little steep for what seems like so little. Let me tell you though, it is an investment that is well worth the $9. Not only does it save you from cutting your fingers on the edges of jars, it also helps keep the crunchy crunchy, and the soft soft. They can also be used for food other than dressings. I’ve used mine for hummus, olives, smaller salad toppings, yogurt, and peanut butter. They will also save you money because you will be less likely to throw away food because something got soggy. Another plus side, the BNTO cups are made in the USA! What a better way for you to support your fellow countrymen.

IMG_0656

          What’s so great about this company?
I would never call myself a “tree hugger.” However, I do care about the environment and I care about my personal impact on the environment. I do my best to find products that fit in line with those values. Cuppow! is that company. They value the environment and their products reflect that. Their cups come in minimal packaging that has been recycled and can be recycled again. Their cups are reusable and dishwasher safe and are SUPER durable.

          How to Use the BNTO cups
BNTO cups are very easy to use and clean. Make sure you have the correct jar size available as the cups have a standard mouth size and a wide mouth size. My particular cup and jar size is wide mouth.

  1. Precisely plan what you want to put in your jar and fit it in the bottom.
  2. Insert the cup into the top of the jar. It will not slip into the jar as the lip on the edge will prevent it from doing so.
  3. Then put your ingredient in the cup.
  4. Fix the lid on top of the cup. The rubber edge will line up with the plastic of the cup and keep it from moving around.
  5. Finally, twist the lid rim until it is tight on the jar. The rim of the jar will not be completely seated in its normal closed position, but that is okay. It is snug and will prevent spillage.

IMG_0659

          Other Uses
Many people assume the purpose of the BNTO cups is to keep dressings from salads or dips from vegetables or chips. But that’s not necessarily the case. They can be used for a variety of purposes. For example, it could keep cucumbers and cheese separate, like I show in the pictures. Think of the cups as a way to keep the wet and dry separated until absolutely necessary. If there is a picky eater in the family, it keeps foods separate for their tastes! If for some reason, you find yourself running out of ideas for what to use Mason jars and BNTO cups for, Pinterest has a plethora of reasons to keep running with these cups.

IMG_0661

          Possible Problems and Common Complaints

  1. Leaking. I have personally had zero problems with the cup leaking. I have put vinaigrette dressing in the cup and taken it to the beach. The best way to prevent leaking is to carefully tighten the lid rim on the jar.
  2. Squished food. It does take a lot of skill to get the right amount of food in the jar before you put the cup in. The cup takes up space, but this is a positive in my book as it helps control portions.

          Where can I find these awesome things?
They have a website http://www.cuppow.com/ where you can order. Surprising enough, Cuppow! BNTO cups are also sold in some stores. If you visit their website, they have a map that you can enter your zip code and it will pull up the closest location to you! They also tell you the store name and the location of that store.

IMG_0657

 

IMG_0658

This is one of my current favorite kitchen gadgets. It makes controlling portions super easy and the ability to plan and make food ahead a breeze. If I can save thirty minutes of my morning routine from making lunch, then I’m all for it. This is a great product and I highly recommend you use it!

Questions? Comments? Concerns? Send me a message or comment below!

Happy Cooking!

One thought on “Product Review: BNTO

  1. Lexan says:

    Glad you like your BNTO! Makes a great way to take 2 snacks in one convenient container (like pickles in the bottom and blueberries in the top). Space is always an issue when kayaking, and I love my BNTO too!

Leave a Reply

