Recipe: Southwest Cheesy Hash Brown Casserole

Recipe: Cheesy Southwestern Hash Browns

 There are some days when nothing will satisfy you but the taste of a southern breakfast food. Hash browns are the most home cooked food I could think of. Once I got the idea of cheesy, shredded potatoes in my head, my stomach growled for them all day.

I LOVE Progresso recipe starters. There are four different flavors and are so easy to use. My favorite is the Cheesy kind. I’ve made mac and cheese with this before and it was fabulous. So after researching ways to make hash browns, I decided to mix and match some ingredients and make my own version.

 

Cheesy Southwestern Hash Browns

1 bag of Simply Potatoes
1 can Progresso Recipe Starters Cheesy
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
½ stick of butter, melted
½ cup sour cream
1 red bell pepper, chopped
1 green bell pepper, chopped
salt & pepper to taste

Not only does this recipe have simple ingredients, it also has very simple instructions for construction! Most of the prep work comes from cutting up the green and red bell peppers. When I took one half of this dish to work, the guys ate it up and thought that the green peppers were jalapenos! (Which gave me an idea for later.) But they told me that the peppers gave it a flavor they weren’t expecting and it was really good. If you want to get more versatile with your vegetables, I would add onions and jalapenos, but don’t overload the dish. The important part is the hash browns and the cheese.

 WP_20140918_002

After you’ve cut everything up dump it all in a large bowl and mix it together. This is pretty much the end of the prep work. I would warn against light mixing. You want all the ingredients thoroughly mixed together so the potatoes don’t clump together.

 WP_20140918_004

WP_20140918_003

WP_20140918_005

If you notice in the pictures, I have two 8×6 glass dishes that I’ve baked the casserole. I do this so I can have half of the recipe for myself and half for someone else. Its so hard to eat something like this over a long amount of time because it will start to mold and get rotten after 4-5 days. I LOVE these two dishes so much because they have airtight tops that have a vent to use for reheating. They are Pyrex brand and my go to dishes for smaller casseroles such as this one.

WP_20140918_006

 You can use any size dish you want for the hash browns. I will warn that a smaller dish means a longer cook time. In the 8×6 glasses, I kept the browns in for about 50 minutes. Larger dishes would probably be closer to 35-40 minutes to bake at 350 degrees. Once the hash browns are finished, they will be brown and crunchy on the top. The recipe starter will make the browns underneath the surface bubble. Let it cool for about 15 minutes before serving. Then dig in!

WP_20140918_008

WP_20140918_009

WP_20140918_010

Any questions? Comments? Suggestions? Please leave a comment in the box! I look forward to hearing from your brain pieces!

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

