Grow Food Not Lawns

I’m a horrible gardener. I’m just going to put it out there in the world. I kill plants. I don’t do it for fun, but it happens all the time.  I love digging in the dirt and planting seeds and watching little ones grow, but I’ve had very little success in getting a lot of veggies for my labor. I remember as a kid having an enormous garden in the back yard and helping plant said garden. I loved walking through rows of potatoes and okra and watermelon to see flowers blooming and yummy veggies growing.

After I got out of college, I had three gardening season. The first I tried was a “container” garden. I salvaged some five gallon buckets and attempted to grow tomatoes and beans. Only one of the three tomato plants ever produced anything. The second attempt at gardening was directly in the ground. The quash, zucchini, a cucumbers produced well but everything else refused to grow passed tiny plant stage. My final garden was raised bed made from old barn beams. This was probably my most successful garden, but then work happened and I couldn’t tend to it like I wanted and it died.

DSCN0295

DSCN0293

DSCN0299

DSCN0300

 

This year, I’m going to be helping in a community garden. It reminds me of the adage “it takes a village to raise children.” But this time it will take a community to raise a squash! I’m hoping with adding assistants, the success of our vegetables will be massive. I can’t wait to enjoy summer foods. They help me stay motivated and focused!

This post was inspired by Earth Day! Instead of watering grass, how about water tomatoes, squash, or peppers? One of the best contributions you can give the Earth is sustainable life?

What are you and your family doing for Earth day or every day?

Happy cooking.

Leave a Reply

