Living Better: Goal 1: Advanced Meal Placement

Becoming a healthier me is going to require big changes. That task seems daunting considering the word big. I have big goals for my weight loss, who doesn’t? But being far away from them makes it seem impossible to achieve.

When I was in high school, I went to a leadership conference with a bunch of my classmates. One of the mini seminar sessions we attended was about setting and achieving goals. One of the points that really stuck with me all these years  is once you set a big goal, set little stepping stone goals to achieve what you really want. That large goal seems really unreachable until you break it up.

Another point was give all your goals, even the small ones, a time stamp. This is a concept I have trouble sticking to because I use my laziness as an excuse. Right now my ultimate goal is to run a full 5K (a local one) without stopping and beat my previous walking time. My biggest goal, however, it to get to and maintain a healthy weight. Fat is not fun and it has nothing to do with society. I’m tired of being tired, physically uncomfortable, and just blech.

Over the next few weeks, I’m going to post my personal fit goals! These are things I want to achieve in my life to make myself better all around. One of my first ongoing life goals, no red meat has commenced and is still going strong!

One of my biggest problems is fast food. There are somethings that I just can’t get enough of. I realize though, that fast food is boring, unhealthy, and full of nasty chemicals. Those burgers are NOT fresh y any means. The reason why I reach for fast food is more for the convenience than the food. It might be because I’m running late for work and stop to get a breakfast biscuit or if I’ve had a particularly hard day I may feel too lazy to make dinner and stop and pick something up.

Not only does this hurt my health but it also kills my wallet. Spending $50 a week on take out dinner puts a hole in my budget. I would actually spend that much a month on groceries (see post on How I Ate on $80 a month).

To combat the convenience to fast food and take-out, my first goal is to commit to premaking breakfast, snacks and at least two dinners per week. This involves prepping, cleaning, and cooking food on Sunday to serve myself the rest of the week. This experiment seems exhausting (and it is), but I feel like it will help me stay focused on my overall health goals. It also follows some clean eating guidelines.

The following is a list of things I made for this week:

Breakfast:
Chicken Breakfast Burritos
Boiled Eggs
Fruit Salad

Lunch (some of these are just ideas)
Sandwiches (with non soggy ingredients)
Salads in a jar
Left overs
Soups
Chicken Salad
Lentils

IMG_0433This is the only counter space I have at my disposal. I had to get very creative with my creations!

IMG_0434After a nice vinegar bath. Look it up on Pinterest. There are so many different ways to wash off veggies!

IMG_0438Lentils from the rice cooker (yes the RICE COOKER!!!) and a chicken ready for chicken salad.

 IMG_0442
Snacks
Grapes, Apples, Nuts, Carrots, Hummus, and Fire Ants on a Log.

 

Don’t get discouraged!!! Stay strong. Comment on any other awesome meals that can be made at the beginning of the week.

Happy Cooking!!!

Leave a Reply

