Church Lady Food

The best, most fattening, blessed food on this planet is food made by the loving hands of church ladies. I don’t care what denomination, where it is located, if you are offered church food, you take it and enjoy it. If for any reason you go away hungry, it is your own fault. I think I have never not liked a dinner made by ladies at my home church. There is really nothing more down home than a home cooked meal at a local church. I find that those meals are ones that stick with me both spiritually and physically.

IMG_0363

I’m not sure if it is a universal thing, but I know food here in Southern churches is completely and totally made by hand. Tonight, my mother and I went down to the local church. When I say local, I mean just far enough that we could walk to it. This church for several years has used their amazing culinary skills to have a Chicken and Dumplings fundraiser. It is the best chicken and dumplings I have ever tasted.

IMG_0362

The dumplings are made completely by hand as in dough and flour and love. But with those chicken and dumplings was fresh candied sweet potatoes, collard greens, green beans, homemade bread, and homemade dessert. My advice is to find the closest church food event and join it! You will not regret it.

IMG_0368

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

