Recipe: Slow Cooker Mushroom Zucchini Tortellini with Chicken

Hey y’all! Long time.

While fishing through Pinterest for some foodspiration, I was surprised to find many tortellini soup/Crock Pot recipes floating around in the piniverse. It has been relatively cold here and I felt the need to make a meal that would be filling and warming at the same time. Unsatisfied with my finds on Pinterest, I figured I would make my own concoction with similar ingredients to those I saw on Pinterest.

Let me say, I am not a fan of “precooking” food that is going to be cooked again mixed with other things. I like things ready to be cooked and ready to eat. The slow cooker really allows things to be thrown in raw/frozen with pretty good success. I also like many of my ingredients to be recipe ready. That why this particular recipe is not entirely from scratch. If I had the time and desire right now to do things from scratch, I don’t think I would ever get anything accomplished!

There are parts of this recipe that I did precook though, for the sake of flavor. For my fellow semi-vegetarians, you can omit the chicken. So here we go!!!

Slow Cooker Mushroom, Zucchini Tortellini with Chicken
1 can Progresso Recipe Starters Mushroom
1/2 onion, chopped
1 large zucchini, cubed
1 cup mushrooms, chopped
1 lb chicken, cubed
1 bag (or 1/2 bag) frozen tortellini

Despite my introduction, I did a little precooking of the onions and mushrooms. I feel the taste of caramelized onions help a dish really pop! So once I prepped all my vegetables, cutting and whatnot, I sauteed the mushrooms and onion together in about 1 tbsp vegetable oil. I sauteed long enough for the onions to get slightly brown but not kill the flavor entirely. You can still put the onions and mushrooms in the crock pot raw, but it may not cook those two things as thoroughly as you would like.

IMG_0170

IMG_0171

IMG_0176

IMG_0178

After that I stuck all the ingredients, except the tortellini, in the crock pot and set them on high until the chicken was done completely. In my little 3 quart Crock Pot, it took only about 2 hours on high. Gauge your own Crock Pot for a better time.

IMG_0180

IMG_0181

After two hours, I poured in the entire bag of tortellini and let it cook through until they were tender. This took about 15 or 20 minutes. Serve hot! I put shredded mozzarella cheese on the top of my yummy tortellini concoction. This recipe makes about 5 servings.

IMG_0182

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

