Recipe: Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

This is a recipe I discovered on Pinterest when I first started pinning things. I thought how this recipe was incredibly easy and would be good to use for Christmas gifts. I tried this recipe two years ago, but it was so time consuming that I gave up. Then last year, I gave it a bigger chance.

I went to Michaels and bought a small loaf pan (it has the ability to make 9 mini loaves!) I’ve used it for meatloaves (when I’ve ate meat) as well as other things. The time I had to spend on this recipe is large in comparison to other recipes for one reason. I had to convert ALL the measurements for the ingredients to US measurements.

The website I found the recipe on (link here) uses grams for everything. I spent hours converting and it was exhausting! However, I have remeasured this recipe for all my Stateside readers! I have also added the original measurements so you have it all in one place. If you guys manage to figure out more accurate measurements, please share them in the comments below. Enjoy and Merry Christmas.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread
1/2 can pumpkin puree (288 g)
1 1/4 cup sugar (250 g)
3 eggs
3/4 cup + 2 tbsp vegetable oil (200 g)
1 1/2 cup self rising flour (200 g)
1/2 cup chocolate chips (150 g)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit (175 degrees Celsius).

Whisk oil, sugar and pumpkin until mixed.
DSCN4107

DSCN4109

DSCN4111

Add eggs one at a time. Make sure you whisk the mixture quickly after each egg.

Fold in the flour. I strongly suggest doing this 1/2 cup at a time. It makes a lot less mess.
DSCN4114

DSCN4117

Fold in chocolate chips. Grease the pan before you pour the mixture in so it will be easier to remove (especially if you use the mini loaf pan.

DSCN4121

DSCN4123

If you decided to bake the bread as one loaf, then it needs to bake about an hour. Check on it at 45 minutes and use a toothpick to check the center. If the center is runny, it still needs 15 minutes. But if it is firm, then you can remove it for the oven. If you use a mini loaf pan like I do, cook it for about 30 minutes. Check on it with a toothpick and if runny, cook 10 more minutes.

Thank you for reading and for all your support and have a Happy New Year!
Kendall

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

Leave a Reply

