Recipe: Mexican Spaghetti Squash Bake

I have found myself madly in love with spaghetti squash. Since it is in season, it makes it really easy to get for a good price. Not only that, I think spaghetti squash is one of the most versatile of the squashes. As I was driving home today thinking about what I was going to make for supper, I thought about the spaghetti squash that I had at home. And then I thought I wanted something Mexican. What better way to bring the two together. This semi-vegetarian thing is really making some yummy food!

I don’t have many pictures because I didn’t think about taking any until after I was finished, but I did take some of the final product.

Mexican Spaghetti Squash Bake

1/2 4lbs spaghetti squash
1 can black beans
1 can kidney beans
1 can sweet corn
1 cup Mexican cheese
1 pkg McCormick low-sodium taco seasoning

Optional Toppings:
lettuce
tomato
avocado or guacamole
sour cream

First bake the squash in the oven. Cut it in half and take out the seeds. The oven needs to be at 400 degrees. Place the two halves on a baking sheet flesh side down. Cook the squash for about 35-40 minutes, until its soft enough to take a fork to the flesh and scrape it out.

In the meantime, drain the corn, black beans, and kidney beans. Rinse well and mix the beans together. You can also use this time to wash the dishes, pet the dog, yell at your kids, prepare the toppings,  and check on the squash. Once the squash is finished, take the larger half in a your hand WITH A OVEN MITT!!!! I cannot express this enough. I really don’t want you to get burned.

Once you have it in your hand, take a fork and scrape out the flesh into an oiled pan. Mix half of the packet of taco seasoning and 1/4 of the water required on the packet. You only need to “cook” it for about 1 minute to get all the squash covered with seasoning.

Pour the squash mixture into a glass baking dish and flatten it out as a layer. They sprinkle the corn in a layer, the beans and then top with cheese. Be generous with the cheese, I usually am! Put the bake into the oven long enough for the cheese to melt. This will heat the beans and the corn as well. Do not try to scoop this bake out with a spatula. Scoop it with a spoon. The beans really have nothing to hold on to so they will attempt to escape the dish immediately!

WP_20131124_001

WP_20131124_003

That’s pretty much it. Once you’ve scooped it out you can top it with your toppings. I thought of it like a taco without meat and without a shell. This is a really good dish and can make up to 6 servings! That is lunch for several days.

Happy cooking!

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Mexican Spaghetti Squash Bake

  1. Ani says:

    I have a recipe on my blog very similar to this using quinoa instead of spaghetti squash. Now I have a reason to make it again and try it with the squash 🙂

Leave a Reply

