Sushi Rolls

Saturday I went on a date night with some of my girlfriends. We all LOVE sushi and frequent a local sushi restaurant, California Roll. (Click on the link to see their Facebook page!) This particular night was their first ever Roll Your Own Sushi Night event. It was a while lot of fun and a good chance for me to get out and socialize. I had attempted to roll my own sushi before, but of course it didn’t turn out right, so this was the perfect opportunity for me to learn well.

943715_10151962114620861_1264483224_n(I’m in the middle in blue!)

WP_20131102_006

(My California Roll! Isn’t it pretty?)

photo 5

(My friend’s spicy tuna roll)

We rolled a total of three rolls, a cucumber roll, a California roll, and a spicy tuna roll. There was a ridiculous amount of food. The meal came with an appetizer, three rolls, and a dessert roll. I took two of my rolls home and was still stuffed to the gills! Despite the over abundances of food, the price was very reasonable at $25 per person. It seemed more rewarding because I actually made my own rolls. I would highly suggest finding a local restaurant and doing one of these events if they offer them. Even if they don’t, you can research different types of sushi and host your own party!

photo 3

(One of my first rolls that succeeded!!!)

WP_20131102_003

(Pickled Veggies. Yum Yum)

As a matter of fact, we were talking about how we should do a sushi roll party during the holidays sometime. It would be a great opportunity for everyone to get together and learn something fun (and possibly drink some Sake in the process!!!) This kind of thing would also be a great girl’s night activity if you don’t want to go out.

Some of the ingredients yo’ll need for an event vary, based on the roll you want to create. The following is a list of items for a California roll:

  • seaweed (nori)
  • sushi rice (prepared)
  • kani (crab sticks)
  • avocado
  • cucumber

You will also need:

  • a rolling mat wrapped in plastic wrap
  • water
  • wooden spoon
  • sake
  • friends!

WP_20131102_002

I will leave you with a final thought. Because of the rise in the popularity of sushi, our oceans are being quickly depleted of fish. Try to use local sources of seafood if you have them and support conservation groups and fish farmers in their quest to keep fish plentiful.

Comment below about your favorite girl’s nights activities or even your experience with sushi! I’d love to hear it. In the meantime, HAPPY COOKING!

One thought on “Sushi Rolls

Leave a Reply

