Recipe: Cucumber Salsa

As I promised in my last post, Kitchen Staples: Summer Edition, I made something out of the boat load of cucumbers given to me. Now, most of these cucumbers were nearly passed their prime. After peeling them, I had a lot of bad spots to cut out, which led to some interesting shaped pickles. I figured, since its summer, I needed to make a cool cucumber salad. It turned out to be more of a salsa which I was much happier with. This recipe is so simple, someone with NO kitchen experience can do it.

Cucumber Salsa

4 cucumbers, peeled, cut, drained
1/2 white onion, diced
1 cup feta cheese
2-4 tablespoons Kraft Anytime Greek vinaigrette dressing
1 tablespoon salt

DSCN4890

The only thing about this recipe that takes time is draining the cucumbers. You want to make sure to get as much water out of the cucumbers first, otherwise it will make the salsa runny the next day. I have found the best method for draining the beast is to peel and cut them into slices and quarters. Once you do that, put them in a strainer and sit the strainer in the sink. Take about 1 tablespoon of salt and sprinkle over the cucumbers. Get your hands dirty. Go on, stick them in that cucumber pile and stir it around a bit! There ya go! Once you’ve got the cucumbers “marinating” in the salt, walk away. That’s right, go on about your business for a while. Do some cleaning, watch the tube, whatever makes you happy. Check on them about every 15 minutes and squeeze the water out of them.

DSCN4888

You only need to leave the cucumbers “soaking” for about an hour. This seems to be the best amount of time to get most of the water out of the cucumbers. After you have drained them. Move them into a bowl, or a storage container where you will keep them and add all the other ingredients. Yep, it’s that easy! The container that I put the mixture in had a lid, so instead of getting a utensil dirty, I just closed the lid and shook really, really hard. Which did the trick!

DSCN4891

There is one note I need to make. The Greek vinaigrette has oregano, salt, pepper, and other spices in it that will give the cucumbers flavor. Do NOT add anymore spices to the salsa mixture. Also, start out with 2 tablespoons, then taste before you add more. The dressing is strong (which is something I didn’t realize) and too much is definitely too much.

I actually didn’t eat the salsa right away. I waited a couple of days, which seemed to help the dressing lose some of its kick. I put it on top of spinach, tomatoes and cheese and didn’t add any extra dressing and it was like eating a salad. You can probably also eat it with crackers or toast. Please comment on this post and tell me how it worked for you!

DSCN4892

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

