Recipe: Magic Hummus

Hello! Not really magic hummus. The name of my tiny food processor is Magic Chef, so I’m calling this delight Magic Hummus. The great thing about hummus is that you can use so many different types of beans to make it! I prefer the plan ol’ garbanzo bean hummus because anything else is just plain weird.

I mentioned my tiny food processor. It is probably only like 2 cups worth of space so the instructions for this recipe are based of the fact I couldn’t fit the entire can of beans in at one time. I also did not use Tahini because I don’t like the taste and I didn’t have any available at the time of this making.

Magic Hummus
1 can garbanzo beans
1/4 teaspoon minced garlic
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 cup olive oil
1 tablespoon lemon juice
dash of salt and pepper (to taste)

The instructions are pretty simple in that you just throw them in the food processor and just hit high-speed (with the top on of course!) However, because of my baby processor I had to adjust it a little bit.

Make sure to drain the beans before you blend them, otherwise your hummus will be a watery mess. Once you have them drained, pour about half the can in the processor. Put the all of the ingredients (except the other half can and the salt and pepper) with the beans. Then, I suggest starting off relatively slow. I only have two speeds low (aka grandma) and high (aka Top Gun). Start with low and let it blend for about 15 seconds or so. Just keep a good eye on it.

Once the beans look smooth and chunky, slowly add the remain beans left in the can. I have one of those tops that allow food to put in through the top while things are getting mixed up so I just slowly add them as I went along. You want to blend it all together for about 5 minutes, or until you get an extremely smooth consistency. But if chunky is your thing, then go for it!

All you need to do, is add the salt and pepper, and blend like 5 more seconds and you have HUMMUS!!!! Yeah!!! *does a little dance*

This recipe needs to be consumed ASAP. It really won’t be a huge problem, but it will keep for up to 3 days in the refrigerator in an air tight container. Please enjoy with Pita Chips or even better, vegetables!

DSCN4402

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Magic Hummus

  1. credit says:

    You actually make it appear really easy together with your presentation however I in finding this topic to be really one thing that I think I might never understand.

    It sort of feels too complex and extremely huge for me. I’m having a look ahead to your subsequent publish, I’ll attempt to
    get the cling of it!

  2. Pingback: Homepage

Leave a Reply

