Recipe: Mini Meatloaves and Kinda Homemade Mashed Potatoes

Hi e’ry body! HEHE….

I was thinking today about meatloaf and the evolution of meatloaf in my life. Now, I remember being a kid and thinking anything in “loaf” form was utterly disgusting and I would never touch the stuff. But as I grew, I realized that loaves are not that bad. I also thought about how nearly ever family has that 1 special family meatloaf recipe. As far as I can remember, we never did, because meatloaf was not on the common rotation list of foods in our house.

So, I’ve decided I’m going to do one of my own, right here, right now!

Meatloaf and Kinda Homemade Mashed Potatoes

1 lb 93% lean ground beef
1 cup panko bread crumbs
2 eggs
1/4 cup blue cheese crumbles (I had them, you don’t have to use them)
1/4 large onion
Garlic powder
Salt
Pepper

DSCN4263

Yep. Those are the simple ingredients. I like to keep things as simple as possible in my house. Less dishes, less washing them.

Gather and prepare all of your supplies before you do anything else. I didn’t realize I didn’t have any eggs and had to go out and get them. Cut the onion into reasonable size pieces. If you want less onion, don’t cut as much of it. While I was making the loaves, the onion just seemed to overwhelm the meat, but once it cooked up it didn’t seem so bad. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees (makes the loaves crunchy!)

DSCN4265

DSCN4266 This was the measurements I used for salt, pepper, and garlic powder.

DSCN4268

In a bowl, I combined the ground beef, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion. On the top, break the eggs and dig in. Yes, dig in. Make sure your hands are really clean and mix the mixture with your hands. It is the best and MOST efficient way to get all the ingredients to mix.

DSCN4271

Once you have it all together, you can put it in a normal size loaf pan. I have a mini loaf pan that I LOVE with all my heart and used it for this project. It really helps portion things out and I can easily put some meat loaves away for lunch the next day.

DSCN4274

Once you have it mixed and in a slightly greased pan, stick it in the oven for 20 minutes at 400 degrees. The temperature is that high to make the outside of the loaves crunchy.

The mashed potatoes are actually Idaho instant potatoes. Yeah. I will do a mashed potato blog later.

Once it’s done, pull it out of the oven and plate it. Take the blue cheese crumbles and sprinkle it on top. It will give a little kick to the already kickin’ meat.

DSCN4277

DSCN4279

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

