Recipe: Chicken Noodle Soup

It’s that nasty time of year when that dreaded 3 letter “F” word comes up. That’s right, the FLU!!! Ahhhhhhh! Run and hide. The greatest thing, however, is that this time is also the time for chicken noodle soup. There have been studies done that show chicken soup is actually good for you, especially when you have a cold or flu.

Now, I have been fortunate enough not to have the flu this season. But I did have a cold that was pretty strong. When I was going through this cold, I made some amazing chicken soup that helped knock it right out. Here it is!

Chicken Noodle Soup
1 cup water
1 1/2 cup chicken stock
1 tsp salt and pepper
1/2 small onion, diced
1 cup or so (use your judgement) of Rotisserie Chicken
1 1/2 servings egg noodles
1 pack of Lipton onion soup mix

Note: I was experimenting with the egg noodle. They worked, but you must consume all the soup (hopefully you have some one to help you) because egg noodles keep soaking up water when they are left sitting in it.

Step 1: Diced the small onion and saute it in the bottom of the pan. This releases the flavor of the onion when you put the water in.

Chicken Noodle Soup

Step 2: I used rotisserie chicken from my grocer’s deli section. It was a cold chicken. I will talk about its versatility later, but it is excellent here. It’s quick and easy to just dump in as much as you want. I used about 1 cup and it seemed to be the perfect amount for me. If you like more chicken heavy soup, by all means, add the bird. Add the onion soup mix here too!!!

Step 3: Once you have sautéed the chicken, the onion, and soup mix together, add the water and chicken stock with salt and pepper. Allow the ingredients to sit to a slow rolling boil. One of the benefits of chicken soup is the heat (hot heat, not spice heat). Stir occasionally so the chicken doesn’t stick to the bottom of the pot.

DSCN3920

Step 4: At the very last second, add the egg noodles. Egg noodles only take about 2 minutes to cook all the way through, so turn of the heat about 1 minute after you add them. They will continue to absorb the liquid the longer they sit.

DSCN3921

Easy peezy! Chicken soup is one of those that brings back memories of being at my grandmother’s while she took care of me when I was sick. I hope you enjoy it and please stay healthy.

DSCN3924

Happy Cooking!

By the way. I did this a little backwards than what the pictures suggest. I prepared it differently when I took the pictures but the end result was MUCH better with the above instructions.

3 thoughts on “Recipe: Chicken Noodle Soup

Leave a Reply

