Going Green (with Food)

Going Green (with Food)

In an effort to eat healthier, I thought about the things I really need to be putting into my body. One thought that kept popping into my head was something my mother always said to me as a kid. Every time we went to a buffet, I would come back to the table and lay down my plate. My mom would always say “I don’t see anything green on that plate!”

Now, in hindsight, I realize that not everything green is necessarily the best choice. Some green vegetables can have starches and such; like green beans. I was thinking about it and I wanted to talk about some healthy “green” options for your plate.

1. Anything leafy. Collards, spinach, arugula, bok choy, cabbage… The list can go on and on. The beautiful thing about leafy things is their versatility. They can be used for just about anything and most of the time you can eat them raw or cooked; although I wouldn’t suggest eating collards raw! Most leafy vegetables are high in fiber which can clean out your system really quick and when you eat leaf at least once a day, you feel great! Pairing greens with pork of some kind is usually the go-to strategy for enjoying leaves!
133-cartoon-lettuce-joke
http://www.fruitycuties.com/archive/133-cartoon-lettuce-joke.htm
2. Broccoli. I cannot say enough about broccoli. It is my green vegetable of truth and I will definitely talk more about the versatility of this amazing vegetable later.

3. Celery. Pair it with peanut butter, hummus, ranch dressing. You can always go really old school (like kindergarten) and make ants on a log. Celery, peanut butter and raisins!

4. Brussel sprouts, bean sprouts, any type of sprout. I know bean sprouts are not necessarily green, but they have the same benefit as any other green veggie! I don’t understand why brussel sprouts get such a bad rap either. They are like mini cabbages and are amazing with a little butter spray and salt and pepper!

086-cartoon-sprouts-joke
(thanks to http://www.fruitycuties.com/archive/086-cartoon-sprouts-joke.htm)

5. Kale. I have heard so much of this vegetable it is ridiculous. It is considered a leafy green, but I find that it needs its own number. Kale is a lot like spinach and you can make just about anything with it. Chips, soup, so forth and so on, but there is a recipe that makes it really good on its own. I saw it on a video on Youtube: http://youtu.be/WgedURcA8_U (Nice Peter Too!)

No matter how you spin it, green is good. There are so many vegetables that didn’t make this list that are green and good, but these are my top 5. What are yours?

3 thoughts on “Going Green (with Food)

Leave a Reply

