Recipe: Butternut Squash Soup

Good evening friends! I begin this blog with a very important recipe. In fact, it’s so important, this is the first time I ever attempted it and it turned out pretty darn good if you asked me.

That’s right! Butternut Squash Soup!

Now, I’ve been looking for a recipe for this for a long time. One of my bestest friends in all the word gave me a butternut squash about 2 months ago from their garden. I am always willing to enjoy the fruits of someone else’s labor. You grow it, I cook it! Any way, I’ve wanted to make something with this tiny little butternut, only 1 pound, but didn’t know what.

That’s when things around here got cold and I wanted soup! What a better way to enjoy the butternut than to make it into a thick, warm, filling soup.

Now, I am a single girl, so I look for ways to make meals with 2 servings or less and this was a complete success! Here we go.

Butternut Squash Soup
2 Servings

1 small (approx 1 lb.) butternut squash, peeled, seeded, cubed
1 can (12 oz) chicken broth (you can use water too!)
2 large tablespoons butter
1/2 tablespoon nutmeg
salt & pepper to taste

Make sure that you completely seed and peel the squash. The skin usually gets tough when you cook it. Then cube it like so:

Butternut squash soup

Once you get it all cubed and ready to cook, put the butter in a pot and melt it, but don’t burn it. You want it to be the start of your soup. It gives a real creamy quality that helps the butternut ZING!

Once you get the butter melted, pour in the chicken stock. Then allow the squash to take a bath. Just put it right in there. Like so:

Butternut squash soup

Now, just let that simmer. 15-20 minutes should do it. Make sure that it doesn’t boil over or burn. Stir every once in a while to prevent it. You want the squash to be soft so you can blend it or mash it.

Me. I don’t have a blender, probably should get one, but I chose to mash the squash by hand. But before that, I separated the liquid from the solid. Do NOT drain the liquid away. You need that. Just place it back in the pot. You can always just use a slotted spoon to take care of that problem.

butternut squash soup

Once you get the squash separated, mash it to your liking. If you want thick/chunky soup, you don’t have to mash it as much. That’s how I like it. But if you like your soup SUPER liquidy, then mash to your hearts content. That means you’re working some muscles.

butternut squash soup

As soon as you get it to the right consistency, return the squash to the liquid, turn the heat back on and stir until it is completely mixed together.

Add the nutmeg at this point and the salt and pepper to taste. I would suggest not adding too much salt because of the broth (unless you used low sodium, like me.)

The final result is this:

butternut squash soup

Butternut Squash Soup

Butternut squash soup

Yum Yum!

Beautiful, right? It was good too. Just remember, you can add plenty of water/broth, but not plenty of squash.

Thanks for visiting SquaRed and happy cooking!

Kendall

One thought on “Recipe: Butternut Squash Soup

  1. mexican recipes says:

    Hello there! This article couldn’t be written any better! Going through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He continually kept preaching about this. I will send this information to him. Fairly certain he will have a great read. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

